Skip navigation

I decided tonight, based on some feedback that I’ve received, that I probably released Buzzbird a bit before it was ready.  I thought that the “alpha” label on it was enough to let people know that it’s still a work-in-progress, but after careful consideration I’ve concluded that I should probably get it a lot closer to “feature complete” before releasing it to the public.

Releasing software is a funny thing, I guess.  The only other open source project that I had been involved with before this one was the Avant Window Navigator, for Linux.  In that case, there were lots of developers encouraging each other to make baby steps toward a great user experience.  In this case, I’m just one guy.  Making matters worse, because I started out with the same name as a Mac app, I’ve unwittingly attracted a lot of Mac users.  Unlike Linux users, Mac users are a lot more demanding of their apps to have achieved their Mac UI Zen (bear in mind, I say this as a Mac user myself).  Even though my app is very young, it’s getting a lot of bad press because those users are disappointed, once they’ve downlaoded it, that it’s far from complete.

So I’m pulling down the download link for a while, so I can polish it a bit more before trying again.  Hopefully I’ll have better luck the next time around.

Leave a Reply

